

ITA Nowslotter2023 RECAP AND 2024 EVENTS

ITA OFFICERS

Jordan Hackl - President of Warrensburg, IL Frank Williams - Vice President of St Anne, IL Derek Bourke - Secretary of Nokomis, IL Terrance Althoff - Treasurer of Neoga, IL

ITA BOARD MEMBERS

Bill Bourke of Pana, IL

Bob Hammerich of Glasford, IL

Jake Phillips of Flora, IL

John Melvin of Christopher, IL

Rachel Landau of Brimfield, IL

Ryan Patterson of Glasford, IL

Tanner Smith of LaHarpe, IL

Tony Gudausky of Decatur, IL

A letter from your President...

Hello all, I'm not exactly sure what I'm supposed to say but I'm supposed to write a letter for the newsletter as the president, so here it is.

Our summer seminar was on Saturday August 26th at my shop in Warrensburg. It was on molding and casting and presented by Nathan Jacob's from RAMPF. If you ask me, this was a must see seminar for anyone that wants to take their molding and casting game to the next level and compete at the highest levels of taxidermy competition.

I would like to thank everyone that attended our 2023 convention, in my opinion it was one of the most enjoyable conventions I can remember, so thank you to everyone for helping make our show such a positive experience, I am hopeful that we can carry that same positive energy into our 2024 show. I am very excited to work with our board and membership to help maintain one of the most well run state shows you'll find in the country. With that being said my main goals as your president are to serve the membership in any way that positively affects the members experience within the ITA, and to also maintain and protect the culture of the ITA.

When it comes down to it, in my opinion the reason people come back (or don't come back) is the culture surrounding our show and it's members, just the same as any group of people gathering. All we really have to leave an impression on people is the culture and the attitude of the members and leaders that make up the organization. I will do everything in my ability to ensure that remains the same enjoyable experience for all our members that I have enjoyed over the last 10 plus years of being involved in the ITA. This job however is not my job alone, everyone plays a role in this whether it be while you're at our show, another state show, or just talking with another taxidermist on the phone; we all have an impact on our culture day to day in how we carry ourselves. Illinois is truly one of the most tight knit family like associations and I firmly believe that has been the key to our success, so I would like to thank everyone before me that started and has carried on that mentality. I am excited as your president to try my best to keep that spirit that has served us all these years alive and well.

Your President, Jordan Hackl

2024 Event Schedule

Keep watch on the website or Facebook page for additional events and information as they come up! These are just a few important dates to remember.

January 6th - Board Meeting and ShowPlanning

January 18th - 20th - Lifesize Predator Seminar by Carolin Brak-Dolny

February 24th - Cutoff date for the discounted rate on rooms at The Northfield Inn and Suites for the state show

March 1st - ITA scholarship applications due

March 14th - 17th - ITA Show & Convention

April 1st - *REMINDER* renew your state taxidermy license

July - date TBA - Summer Board Meeting and Fish Fry

Summer Seminar - TBA

2023 SPECIALITY AWARD WINNERS

- ★ Lifetime Achievement Award
 - Rick Starostki
- ★ Charter Member Recognition
 - o Mick & Linda Underhill
- ★ First Time Competitor Award Sponsored by Long Beard Taxidermy
 - o Callie Feldman
- ★ Charlie Brown Fish Habitat Award Sponsored by Steve Bollini, Jack Trudeau, and Bob Esposito
 - o Tom Crafton
- ★ Lifetone Award Sponsored by GNS Legacy
 - o Brent Collins
- ★ Bass Award Sponsored by Lake MAttoon Bass Club
 - Jack Trudeau
- ★ Best Youth Award Sponsored by IFOR
 - Makenzie Pilat
- ★ Best Gamehead Award Sponsored by IFOR
 - o Donna Brown
- ★ IFOR President's Choice Sponsored by IFOR
 - Sarah DeJournett
- ★ IFOR First Lady's Choice Sponsored by IFOR
 - o Corbin DeJournett & Sarah DeLournett
- ★ IFOR Best in Show Sponsored by IFOR
 - o Derek Bourke
- ★ Best Youth Fur Bearer Sponsored by M&R Fur
 - o Autumn Henderson
- ★ Best Professional Fur Bearer Sponsored by M&R Fur
 - o Rachel Landau
- ★ Best Masters Fur Bearer Sponsored by M&R Fur
 - o Ken Graf
- ★ ITA President's Choice, Best Youth Award
 - o Makenzie Pilat
- ★ Trudeau/Williams Youth Enthusiasm Award
 - Autumn Henderson
- ★ Best Commercial Mount Sponsored by Fatheree Mounting Stands
 - Richard Ward
- ★ Best Youth Mount Sponsored by Fatheree Mounting Stands
 - o Makenzie Pilat
- ★ Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation Award
 - o Bill Bourke & Derek Bourke
- ★ Most Original Sponsored by Vandyke's
 - o Tom Crafton

2023 SPECIALITY AWARD WINNERS CONTINUED...

- ★ Polytranspar Award Sponsored by WASCO
 - o Brian Butterfield
- ★ Whitetails Unlimited Award
 - o Chris Giller
- ★ Best Whitetail Mount That Tells A Story Sponsored by Kankakee Whitetails Unlimited
 - o Derek Bourke
- ★ Mounted in Alaska Award Best Lifesize Mammal Sponsored by Knight's Taxidermy
 - Amanda Weathers
- ★ ITA President's Choice Best Commercial Award
 - o Tonya O'Tinger
- ★ Hero's Choice Award Sponsored by Horse Creek Hidery
 - o Sarah DeJournett
- ★ Hero's Choice Youth Award Sponsored by Horse Creek Hidery
 - Morgan Patterson
- ★ Trophy Room Woodshop Award
 - o Bill Bourke & Derek Bourke
- ★ Best Youth Waterfowl Sponsored by Delta Waterfowl
 - o Makenzie Pilat
- ★ Best Professional Waterfowl Sponsored by Delta Waterfowl
 - Amanda Weathers
- ★ Best Masters Waterfowl Sponsored by Delta Waterfowl
 - o Steve Bolini
- ★ Pheasants Forever Award
 - o Jeff Herrick
- ★ Ducks Unlimited Best Youth Waterfowl
 - Morgan Patterson
- ★ Ducks Unlimited Best Professional Waterfowl
 - Ken Graft
- ★ Ducks Unlimited Best Masters Waterfowl
 - o Brent Collins
- ★ Walnut Creek Endearing Award
 - o Jim Hess
- ★ Safari Club International Big Game Award
 - Scott Roscoe
- ★ NWTF Award
 - o Jake Phillips
- ★ Pro-1 Award
 - Amanda Weathers

Best of Category Winners - Professional Division

- ★ Combined Artist Challenge Jeff Barrett & Mick Underhill
- ★ Turkey Derek Bourke
- ★ Game Head, Other Sarah DeJournett
- ★ Whitetail, Closed Mouth Duwayne Cournoyer
- ★ Mammal, Medium Duwayne Cournoyer
- ★ Mammal, Large Derek Bourke
- ★ Original Art Jeremy Miracle

State Champions - Master's Division

- ★ Combined Artist Challenge Bill Bourke & Derek Bourke
- ★ Turkey Jake Phillips
- ★ Upland Jeff Herrick
- ★ Waterfowl Tonya O'Tinger
- ★ Warm Water Fish Tom Crafton
- ★ Game Head, Horned/Antlered Frank Williams
- ★ Whitetail, Closed Mouth Matt Cheek
- ★ Whitetail, Open Mouth Kyle Patin
- ★ Mammal, Medium Amanda Weathers
- ★ Original Art Brent Collins
- ★ Mixed Multiples Jeff Herrick

Major Awards

- ★ Award of Excellence Recipient
 - o Ryan Patterson Waterfowl
- ★ McKenzie Distinguished Service Award
 - o Terrance Althoff
- ★ McKenzie Competitor's Choice Best Fish
 - o Tom Crafton
- ★ McKenzie Competitor's Choice Best Whitetail
 - Matt Cheek
- ★ McKenzie Competitor's Choice Best Bird
 - o Tonya O'Tinger
- ★ McKenzie Competitor's Choice Best Mammal
 - Marlin Filer
- ★ Game Head Award Sponsored by Jack Emery
 - o Frank Williams
- ★ Competitor's Choice Best Mount & UTA Artisan Award
 - o Scott Roscoe

Major Awards Continued...

- ★ People's Choice Youth Award Sponsored by Cheyanne Williams
 - Makenzie Pilat
- ★ People's Choice Best Mount
 - o Tonya O'Tinger
- ★ ITA Competitor's Award
 - o 3rd Place Amanda Weathers
 - o 2nd Place Sarah DeJournett
 - o 1st Derek Bourke
- ★ Matuska Competitor's Award Masters Division
 - Jeff Herrick
- ★ The Wasco Award Most Artistic Entry
 - Amanda Weathers
- ★ Master of Masters
 - Jordan Hackl
- ★ Best Professional Entry
 - o Duwayne Cournoyer
- ★ Taxidermy Today Woody Award
 - o Amanda Weathers
- ★ The Breakthrough Award Best of Show
 - o Jeff Herrick Pheasant